NEAFWA Fish and Wildlife Diversity Technical Committee

The Northeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies' (NEAFWA) Fish and Wildlife Diversity Technical Committee, is made up of representatives responsible for fish and wildlife diversity in each of the 13 states in the northeastern U.S. and the District of Columbia, and has been meeting annually since 1986.

The Northeast Fish and Wildlife Diversity Technical Committee has been compiling a list of species representing Northeast states' shared conservation priorities since the 1990s and published its first list in 1999.

In 2007, Northeast states resolved to pool 4% of their State Wildlife Grant funds to create the Regional Conservation Needs Grant Program, administered by the Wildlife Management Institute. The grant program has funded a wide range of projects including the first climate vulnerability assessments for the region, habitat classification systems and assessments, conservation status assessments for odonates and Northern Diamondback Terrapins. In Summer 2020, a symposium was presented in the virtual North American Congress for Conservation Biology Conference.